I don’t like standard beauty – there is no beauty without strangeness. ~ Karl Lagerfeld

radiantgeek2

Welcome to The Radiant Geek!

As a lifelong geek and a borderline-obsessive make-up aficionado, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard, “Make-up is so intimidating!” or “Red lipstick?! I can’t even.” from my friends and family. I’ve been playing with makeup for as long as I can remember, whether it was my aunt letting me poke around in her pots of shimmery loose eyeshadow, or my Nanna’s beautiful lipstick cases that always intrigued me, and it engendered a confidence that there’s nothing scary about it. Especially after I graduated high school (with some less than stellar self-applied prom make-up, to be perfectly honest) and attended The School of Make-up Art for beauty and Special Effects make-up. However, I recognize that not everyone feels that way, especially geek girls who might have had to play down their feminine side til they found their own place in the Boy’s Club, or just never got the chance to play with cosmetics. This one is for you, gorgeous girls (and boys… no judging here.)!

Now, wait… not every geek girl refrains from make-up just because she’s intimidated by it! I totally get that, and I’m not even remotely here to tell bare-faced geeks that they just haven’t found the right shade of pink lipgloss yet. For some, it might be a question of simply no time, or cosmetics are straight-up not a priority. And that is more than cool. But should you want to venture into dabbing on a little something now and then, I’m your girl.

Trust me, I know you could just as easily go to YouTube and find a tutorial of a pretty girl showing you how she makes herself prettier. That’s not what you’ll find here at The Radiant Geek. What you will find is every trick I have up my sleeve for quick, easy, and natural-looking make-up that you can use in your everyday, geek-gorgeous life.

Ask questions, chime in with your own tips, let me know your thoughts on the latest product review; consider this blog your cosmetics Con hotel room. Grab a glass of mead, find a spot wherever you can amidst the costumes and Magic decks, and let’s talk lovely, make-up or not.
siggy

2 thoughts on “I don’t like standard beauty – there is no beauty without strangeness. ~ Karl Lagerfeld

  1. *pops open a bottle of vino and hops a squat* I am here and ready to learn! I mean, I’m not completely without skill, but I am definitely on the “training wheels” end of makeup skills and not the “riding the bike alone sans helmet” end. SO excited to see what you have to offer!

Leave a Reply

